Syracuse attack Emily Hawryschuk nominated for 2019 Tewaaraton Award

first_img Published on April 25, 2019 at 4:29 pm Contact Eric: [email protected] | @esblack34 Two days after being named to the All-ACC first team for the second-straight year, Syracuse junior attack Emily Hawryschuk has been named one of 25 nominees for the Tewaaraton Award, the lacrosse equivalent of the Heisman Trophy.She is the lone SU representative among the nominees, though fellow attack Nicole Levy and defender Sarah Cooper were named to the award’s watch lists earlier this season. The Victor native leads the Orange with 61 goals and 78 points, both of which are career-highs, and also paces the team with 45 draw controls.Hawryschuk is joined on the list of nominees by 10 other players from the ACC, including four from Syracuse’s next opponent, Boston College. Reigning Tewaaraton winner Sam Apuzzo, who scored seven goals versus the Orange earlier this season, leads the quartet of players from BC.No. 4 Syracuse (15-3, 5-2 Atlantic Coast) will take on the top-ranked Eagles (18-0, 7-0) on Friday at 5 p.m. in the semifinals of the ACC tournament after they defeated No. 7 Virginia, 12-10, on Wednesday. The Orange gave BC its toughest test of the season on Feb. 16, when they jumped out to a 7-2 lead before ultimately losing, 14-12.AdvertisementThis is placeholder text Comments Facebook Twitter Google+last_img read more