Cricket : Virat Kohli has chances to topple Smith in ICC Rankings

first_imgAlso Read:Cricket : The Indian Pace attack has enough firepower to cover up Bhuwaneshwar and Bumrah’s absence:Darren GoughCricket : Nepal Cricket Team’s captain Paras Khadka dreams big as Nepal are set to begin their ODI journey from 1st August AdvertisementIndian skipper Virat Kohli will look forward to snatching the number-one position from Australia’s Steve Smith in the ICC Test player Rankings during the five test series which is beginning with the first test match in Birmingham on Wednesday.Steve Smith, who is currently serving 12 months ban due to his role in ball tampering, is ahead of Virat Kohli by 26 points. Kohli needs to produce a string of strong performances to get ahead of the Australian.India’s Cheteshwar Pujara is sixth, followed by Lokesh Rahul 18th, Ajinkya Rahane 19th, Murali Vijay 23rd and Shikhar Dhawan 24th, while England’s Joe Root is ranked third (48 points behind Kohli), Alistair Cook 13th, Jonny Bairstow 16th, Ben Stokes 28th and Moeen Ali 43rd. India boasts six bowlers inside the top-30, including two spinners in Ravindra Jadeja (third) and Ravichandran Ashwin (fifth), and four fast bowlers, namely Mohammed Shami (17th), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (25th), Ishant Sharma (26th) and Umesh Yadav (28th). India’s left-arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav, who caused problems for the England batsmen in the ODI series, is ranked outside the top-50 in 56th position.If India can display their strength and prowess which has made them the highest-ranked team in the world, then they will further strengthen their grip on the top spot. Advertisementlast_img read more

Congress bags four seats, BJP two, JD-S one in Council polls

first_imgBengaluru, June 10 (PTI) Karnatakas rulingCongress predictably managed to win all the four seats it contested in the biennial elections to fill seven seats of the Legislative Council from Legislative assembly held today. Opposition BJP too managed to win both the seatsit contested while JD(S), battling dissidence within,could win only one of the two seats it contested. “Out of 225 votes cast, 223 were valid, 2 wereinvalid,” an Election Official said. Allum Veerabhadrappa, Ramappa Timmapur, Rizwan Arshadand Veena Achaiah of Congress, which has 122 members in the 225-member assembly, secured 33,33, 34 and 31votes respectively. For BJP which has 44 members in the assembly, V Somanna secured 31 votes, while the partys second candidate Lahar Singh Siroya got 27 first preference votes and wonthrough second preference votes. BJP leader C T Ravi claimed that the party hasgained additional 14 votes. Out of the two JD(S) candidates, Narayana Swamy K V wongetting 30 votes while the second candidate D R SM Venkatapathi got only 5 votes and lost. JD(S) has40 members in the Assembly. JD(S) MLA Zameer Ahmed, who is among the five rebel MLAs, after casting his vote, said he has voted forCongress candidate Rizwan Arshad. PTI KSU RA VS PAL DKlast_img read more